I do get conservative fan mail too . . .

Date: Thu, 29 Mar 2007 07:31:18 -0800
X-Brightmail-Tracker: AAAAAA==
X-Spam-Score: -2.167 () BAYES_00,HTML_70_80,HTML_MESSAGE
X-Scanned-By: MIMEDefang 2.56 on 69.31.42.66
Hello Dr. Cloud…

I just heard your interview with Laura Ingraham and David Horowitz this morning (I think it was a “Best of” show on her program).

While I consider myself to be firmly planted as a conservative Republican, I must say that I think I would have been lucky to have you as a professor when I was in college 20 years ago. While I don’t agree with probably most of your views, I can tell by listening to you that I would have really enjoyed your class, and I believe you when you say you value open discussion and debate.

You are articulate and clear, and I get the sense that you probably are exactly what we need on our college campuses today.

Ms. Ingraham misses the point of what you represent: while I am a full supporter of our capitalist, dog-eat-dog system, I agree with you that we cannot teach our students to think for themselves unless we introduce them to other viewpoints. Just as one who only watches MSNBC or only watches Fox News is doomed to have their own similar views reinforced, the true seeker of knowledge will pick up The Nation AND News Max, will watch MSNBC AND Fox News, will listen to NPR AND Rush Limbaugh… well, you get the message.

Bravo to you… I am going to google your name today and see if you have any books out there. Loved hearing you today – you didn’t sound shrill; you sounded EDUCATED!

Withheld

AND

On 4/4/07 12:52 PM,
I would like you to know that I have always considered myself to be moderate to slightly conservative. That was until I heard you on the radio with either Bill O’reilly or Sean Hannity ( I can’t remember which). I think that you made your points and handled yourself very well; that made me think and start to re-evaluate my own views.

Keep up the great work,

Leave a Reply

